Vyacheslav Polunin

Speaker
People’s Artist of Russia, clown, actor, director.
Russia
Slava Polunin is a world famous clown. He was born in 1950 in the town of Novosil, Orlovskaya Region. After school, he moved to Leningrad, where he started training in pantomime.

In 1968, he set up a studio first and then his Litsedei Theatre, which very soon became known all over the country and later all over the world. It was the first theatre of clowns, it was a breakthrough, thanks to which the art of clowning went beyond the circus ring.

The Litsedei worked till 1991, when Polunin closed his theatre down, first under Lenconcert, then as a part of the Circus on Stage association, but very soon, the theatre became completely independent and the first self-sufficient theatre in the country. In 1991–1993 Polunin set up the Academy of Fools — cultural center in Moscow and Leningrad, which started reviving carnival traditions in Russia and held big festivals and holiday events.

From 1993 to 1995, Slava Polunin worked in Cirque du Soleil, where he not only took part in performances as an actor, but also created characters and clown’s acts in the Alegria program. All the following years Cirque du Soleil regularly invited and still invites Polunin’s students as clowns to its programs.

Starting from 1996, Polunin toured all over the world with his now famous Snow Show, which, in the opinion of mass media, became "the theatre classics". In addition to performances on stage, Polunin actively works in the street theatre field, where he brought into life a number of giant internationally important projects. They were the Caravan of Peace — festival of street theatres, which traveled all over Europe, the World Theatres on Squares program as a part of the Third World Theatre Olympics in Moscow, the White Carnival project, presented in Moscow and St. Petersburg as one whole performance, created by actors from various countries jointly with their spectators. Slava Polunin was given a lot of prestigious awards in various countries of the world for his services in development of the art of clowning and street theatre. He is a prizewinner of the Laurence Olivier Award and independent Russian Triumph Award, People’s Actor of Russia; he was awarded the Order of Friendship of the Russian Federation and made a Chevallier dans l’ordre des arts et des lettres by the Republic of France. However, he cherishes 3 of his titles most of all: President of the Academy of Fools, Hans Christian Andersen’s envoy to Russia and the King of St. Petersburg Carnival.

Program
16/11/2019
11:00 — 13:00
Round Table Discussion
RUS, ENG
Badge
Badge

18+

RUS, ENG
Multimedia Centre of the Russian Museum
8 Inzhenernaya st., St. Petersburg
15/11/2019
14:30 — 18:00
Conference
RUS, ENG
Badge
Badge

18+

RUS, ENG
Multimedia Centre of the Russian Museum
8 Inzhenernaya st., St. Petersburg

Вячеслав Полунин

Спикер
Народный артист России, клоун, актер, режиссер.
Россия
Слава Полунин, всемирно известный клоун, родился в 1950 году в небольшом городе Новосиль в Орловской области. После окончания школы переехал в Ленинград, где и начал свои занятия пантомимой.

В 1968 году он создает сначала студию, а затем и театр «Лицедеи», который очень скоро станет знаменит на всю страну, а позже и на весь мир. Это был первый театр клоунов, это был прорыв, благодаря которому искусство клоунады вышло за рамки циркового манежа.

В период своей работы вплоть до 1991 года, когда Полунин закрыл театр, «Лицедеи» работали и под эгидой Ленконцерта, и в структуре объединения «Цирк на сцене», но очень скоро стали полностью независимы, оказавшись первым самоокупаемым театром в стране.

В 1991–1993 годах Полунин создает в Москве и Ленинграде культурный центр «Академия дураков», который начинает работу по возрождению карнавальных традиций в России, проводит крупные фестивали и праздники.

С 1993 по 1995 Слава Полунин работает в «Цирке дю Солей», где не только сам участвует в представлениях как артист, но и создает персонажи и номера клоунады в программе «Алегрия». Все последующие годы «Цирк дю Солей» постоянно приглашал и приглашает учеников Полунина в качестве клоунов в свои программы.

С 1996 года Полунин гастролирует по всему миру со своим теперь уже знаменитым спектаклем «Снежное шоу», ставшим, по мнению прессы, «театральной классикой». Помимо спектаклей на сцене, Полунин активно работает в области уличного театра, осуществляет целый ряд огромных проектов международного уровня. Это и фестиваль уличных театров «Караван мира», прошедший через всю Европу, это и программа «Площадные театры мира» в рамках «Третьей Всемирной театральной Олимпиады» в Москве, это и проект «Белый карнавал», представленный в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге как единое представление, созданное артистами из разных стран в сотворчестве со зрителями. За заслуги в развитии искусства клоунады и уличного театра Слава Полунин удостоен множества престижных наград в разных странах мира: он лауреат премии Лоренса Оливье и независимой российской премии Триумф, народный артист России, кавалер Ордена Дружбы Российской Федерации и Шевалье искусств Республики Франция. Но более всего он ценит 3 своих титула: Президент Академии дураков, посланник Г. Х. Андерсена в России и Король Санкт-Петербургского карнавала.

Программа
15.11.2019
14:30 — 18:00
Конференция
РУС, АНГ
Бейдж
Бейдж

18+

РУС, АНГ
Центр мультимедиа Русского музея
Инженерная ул., 8, Санкт-Петербург
16.11.2019
11:00 — 13:00
Круглый стол
РУС, АНГ
Бейдж
Бейдж

18+

РУС, АНГ
Центр мультимедиа Русского музея
Инженерная ул., 8, Санкт-Петербург