Igor Tonin

Speaker
Artistic Director and Chief Conductor, "Metelitsa" Russian folk instruments orchestra.
Russia
Graduated from the Leningrad State Conservatory in two specialties: concert performer (class of Professor A. B. Shalov, Honored Art Worker of the Russian Federation) and conductor (class of A. P. Paulavichius, Honored Art Worker of the Russian Federation). Creator, Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of "Metelitsa" State Orchestra of Folk Musical Instruments (from 1988 to the present day).

In parallel with his studies within the walls of the Leningrad Conservatory in 1983–1988, Tonin actively worked as a conductor: with the children's music school folk musical instruments orchestra of Krasnogvardeisky district of Leningrad, with the famous folk orchestra of Leningrad University, with the folk musical instruments orchestra of the Music School named after N. A. Rimsky-Korsakov. In this particular school, he continued to work after graduating from the Conservatory — as a teacher in the instrumentation and conducting class.

On March 14, 1989, the Metelitsa Folk Musical Instruments Orchestra created by Tonin gave its first concert in the ancient northern Russian city of Tikhvin. In 1992, the Metelitsa Orchestra received the status of the State Orchestra, joining the system of the Committee for Culture of the Leningrad Region. Established in 1991 on the initiative of Tonin and held annually the "Metelitsa" Open Children's Competitions for folk musical instruments performers have won the all-Russian popularity and have grown from the category of the Regional creative event to the scale of the International Competition (since 2006). Tours in Russia, Germany, Norway, Ukraine, Switzerland, Estonia, as well as in China and the USA brought the orchestra the resounding success among the audience and rave reviews from the music critics.

Maestro Tonin is a holder of the St. Petersburg Golden Book Diploma "For great services in preservation, development and popularization of the Russian musical heritage" (1999). He is awarded with the Certificates of Honor and Diplomas of the Legislative Assembly, the Governor and the Committee for Culture of the Leningrad Region. I. M. Tonin is a board member of the All-Russian Musical Society, Chairman of the Board of the Regional Musical Society of the Leningrad Region, Deputy Chairman of the Union of Concert Figures of Russia, Chairman of the Union of Concert Figures of St. Petersburg, Chairman of the Autonomous non-profit organization "Association of Conductors of Professional Orchestras of Russian Folk Musical Instruments".

Игорь Тонин

Спикер
Художественный руководитель и главный дирижер, оркестр русских народных инструментов «Метелица».
Россия
Выпускник Ленинградской государственной консерватории по двум специальностям: концертный исполнитель (класс заслуженного деятеля искусств Российской Федерации профессора А. Б. Шалова) и дирижер (класс заслуженного деятеля искусств Российской Федерации А. Р. Паулавичюса). Создатель, художественный руководитель и главный дирижер государственного оркестра народных инструментов «Метелица» (с 1988 года по сей день).

Параллельно с обучением в стенах Ленинградской консерватории в 1983–1988 годах Игорь Тонин активно работает как дирижер: с оркестром народных инструментов детской музыкальной школы Красногвардейского района Ленинграда, со знаменитым народным оркестром Ленинградского университета, с оркестром народных инструментов музыкального училища имени Н. А. Римского-Корсакова. В этом училище он и продолжил работу после окончания Консерватории — в качестве преподавателя по классу инструментовки и дирижирования.

14 марта 1989 года созданный Тониным оркестр народных инструментов «Метелица» дал свой первый концерт в старинном северном русском городе Тихвин. В 1992 году оркестр «Метелица» получил статус «Государственного», войдя в систему Комитета по культуре Ленинградской области. Учрежденные в 1991 году по инициативе Тонина и ежегодно проводимые Открытые детские Конкурсы исполнителей на народных инструментах «Метелица» завоевали всероссийскую популярность и выросли из разряда Областного творческого состязания до масштабов Международного Конкурса (с 2006 года). Гастроли в России, Германии, Норвегии, на Украине, в Швейцарии, Эстонии, а также в Китае и США принесли оркестру оглушительный успех у слушателей и восторженные отзывы музыкальной критики.

Обладатель Диплома Золотой Книги Санкт-Петербурга «За большие заслуги в деле сохранения, развития и популяризации русского музыкального наследия» (1999). Награжден Почетными грамотами и Дипломами Законодательного Собрания, Губернатора и Комитета по культуре Ленинградской области. Член правления Всероссийского музыкального общества, председатель правления Регионального музыкального общества Ленинградской области, заместитель председателя Союза концертных деятелей России, председатель Союза концертных деятелей Санкт-Петербурга, председатель Автономной некоммерческой организации «Ассоциация дирижеров профессиональных оркестров народных инструментов России».