Araik Khzmalyan

Deputy Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sports of the Republic of Armenia.
Born January 21, 1980 in Vanadzor. Education: 1997–2001 — Yerevan State Institute of Theater and Cinema; 2001–2004 — Postgraduate studies at the Art Institute of NAS RA. Academic degree — Ph.D. in art, author of scientific papers and dozens of articles.

Work activity:

  • 2002–2009 — Senior Researcher at the Museum of Literature and Art. E. Charents;
  • Since 2003 — Head of the Literature Department of Yerevan State Puppet Theater after Hovhannes Tumanyan;
  • 2003–2004 — Lecturer, Department of Art Studies, Yerevan State University;
  • Since 2004 — Senior Researcher, Institute of Arts, NAS RA;
  • 2007–2008 — Founder and Editor of the first theater newspaper "Skene";
  • 2009–2017 — Head of the archival department of Matenadaran;
  • Since 2009 — Chairman of the NGO National Theater Creative Association;
  • 2010 — President of the 1st International Drama Festival "Rehabilitation of the Present";
  • 2010–2017 — President of the Republican festival "Theater-X";
  • 2011–2013 — The author and manager of support project for young directors;
  • 2012 — Regional coordinator "Preventive conservation is a key factor in preserving museum collections: manuscript funds" / UNESCO /;
  • 2013–2017 — Head of the theater course at Yerevan State Institute of Theatre and Cinematography (YSITC);
  • 2014–2018 — Advisor to the director of the Matenadaran for managing museums and cooperation with the CIS countries;
  • Since 2017 — Member of the Board of Directors of the Dante Alighieri Association of Yerevan;
  • 2017–2019 — Executive Director of the Tourism Development Fund of Armenia;
  • June 4, 2019 — Appointed Deputy Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sports of the Republic of Armenia.


  • 2012 — The first winner of the online theater award in the nomination "The best online theater expert";
  • 2013 — Medal "Movses Khorenatsi" (on the occasion of the 22nd anniversary of the declaration of independence of the Republic of Armenia, for many years of dedication and fruitful work);
  • 2015 — Medal "Drastamat Kanayan" of the Armed Forces of the Republic of Armenia;
  • 2017 — Honorary Worker of Culture of Yerevan.